The Endangered Species Act Has Saved Many Endangered Species

The Full Act in pdf Format

Below Is A Summary of the Endangered Species Act 16 U.S.C. §1531
et seq. (1973)

The Endangered Species Act (ESA) provides a program for the conservation of
threatened and endangered plants and animals and the habitats in which they are
found. The lead federal agencies for implementing ESA are the U.S. Fish and
Wildlife Service (FWS) and the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric
Administration (NOAA) Fisheries Service. The FWS maintains a worldwide list of
endangered species.

Species include: birds, insects, fish, reptiles, mammals, crustaceans, flowers,
grasses, and trees.

The law requires federal agencies, in consultation with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service and/or the NOAA Fisheries Service, to ensure that actions they
authorize, fund, or carry out are not likely to jeopardize the continued existence
of any listed species or result in the destruction or adverse modification of
designated critical habitat of such species. The law also prohibits any action that
causes a "taking" of any listed species of endangered fish or wildlife.

Also, import, export, interstate, and foreign commerce of Endangered Species
listed species are all generally prohibited.
The Buffalo Has Been Taken Of The Endangered List